Commonwealth Credit Union Scholarships

Click here to fill out the application!
Scholarship Details

A $1,000 scholarship will be awarded to 4 graduating high school seniors. All submissions must be uploaded by 5:00pm EDT, April 20, 2020. Submissions that are incomplete, not in accordance with the directions, or not in Commonwealth Credit Union’s possession by the above-mentioned date will not be eligible.

Video Submission Requirements

Upload an Unlisted Video of yourself (5 minutes long maximum) to YouTube where you address each of the following:

  1. How are you bettering lives in your community now?
  2. How can CCU better the lives of college-aged students?
  3. How will your education enable you to better lives in the future?
  4. What are you looking for from your banking experience?

(An unlisted video is a type of private video. Unlisted means that only people with the url link can view the video, so that it remains private.)


To be eligible to apply for the Commonwealth Credit Union Scholarship, you must meet the following criteria:

  1. You must be the primary account holder on your Commonwealth Credit Union membership on or before March 31, 2020.
  2. You must be a graduating high school senior. All scholarship recipients must be attending a university, college, secondary education, or trade school resulting in certification or license full time in the fall of 2020.
  3. Award recipients must be able to provide verification of acceptance/enrollment in a university, college, secondary education, or trade school.
  4. Scholarship winners must agree to attend a minimum of two (2) presentation ceremonies, and agree to attend the scholarship recognition night held at Slugger Field in Louisville.
  5. Commonwealth Credit Union Scholarships are nontransferable and distributed as a one-time payment.
  6. Commonwealth Credit Union associates, their immediate family members (children or siblings), and official family are not eligible.
  7. If selected, you will need to provide your official high school transcript.

Selection Criteria

  1. 20% - Answer to “How you’re bettering lives in your community today.”
  2. 15% - Answer to “How CCU can better the lives of college students.”
  3. 20% - Answer to “How your education will enable you to better lives in the future.”
  4. 15% - Answer to “What are you looking for from your banking experience?”
  5. 20% – Creativity and Apparent Passion: The applicant addressed the submission requirements in a creative, clear, and logical manor. The applicant showed sincerity, credibility, and passion in their statements.
  6. 10% - Presentation Quality: The video contained good sound and picture quality and addressed all of the submission requirements.
  7. Selection will be made without regard to the applicant’s race, religious beliefs, gender, sexual orientation, age, marital status, national origin or disability.
  8. Scholarship Judging Committee is selected by Commonwealth Credit Union and is comprised of professionals working in the field of technology, marketing, or education.
  9. Must have a minimum 2.5 GPA.

Fill out the application below:

Previous winners:

2017 - Blake Borwig, Anderson County High School
2017 - Emma Cravens, Southwestern High School
2017 - Josiah Henson, Jackson City High School
2017 - Tamara Rudic, Western Hills High School
2016 - James Ballinger, Rockcastle County High School
2016 - Laura Calihan, Highlands Latin School
2016 - Kirsten Pilcher, Franklin County High School
2016 - Brett Wellman, Greenup County High School
2015 - Brian Tramontin, Franklin Co. High School
2015 - Jay Phillips, Harlan County High School
2014 - Nathanael Sheehan, Mercer County Senior High School
2014 - Christopher Fuchs, Scott County High School
2013 - Rebecca Renn, Academy of Our Lady of Mercy
2013 - James Williams, Clay County High School
2012 - Emma J. Engleman, Owen County High School
2012 - Brianna N. Lee, Woodford County High School
2011 - Evan Wright, Frankfort High School
2011 - Catherine Mountain, Franklin County High School
2010 - Sarah Blakeman, Elizabethtown High School
2010 - Johnathan Bilbro, Muhlenburg County High School
2010 - James Hines, The McCallie School (Chattanooga, TN)
2010 - Elizabeth Hollis, Meade County High School
2009 - Oakley Watkins, Franklin County High School
2009 - Khercie Smith, Clay County High School
2009 - McKinley Heflin, McLean County High School
2009 - Laura Brown, Lyon County High School
2008 - Dustin Robinson, Nicholas County High School
2007 - Shima Dowla, Dunbar High School
2006 - Jacob Wade Turner, Perry County Central High School
2005 - Matthew Akridge, Breckinridge County High School
2004 - James Bailey, Boyd County High School
2003 - Scott Moore, Breckinridge County High School
2002 - Archanna Thangappan, Franklin County High School
2001 - Bradley Tate, Breckinridge County High School


If you've never tried Commonwealth Credit Union before, now is the perfect time to see how we're bettering lives in the community! When you become a member of the Commonwealth Credit Union family, you also become an owner. That means you can start enjoying the great rates, personalized financial advice, and the extraordinary experience we provide to all our owners.

become an owner