Commonwealth Credit Union Scholarships

2017 Winners

Commonwealth Credit Union is pleased to announce the winners of this year's scholarships:

  • Blake Borwig, Anderson County High School
  • Emma Cravens, Southwestern High School
  • Josiah Henson, Jackson City High School
  • Tamara Rudic, Western Hills High School

Scholarship 2017 Winners

From left to right – Josiah Henson (attending University of Kentucky), Blake Borwig (attending Georgetown College) and Tamara Rudic (attending Brown University). Not pictured: Emma Cravens (attending Western Kentucky University).

Scholarship Application

Please make sure you have collected all necessary information and your application is complete:

  • Two letters of recommendation: ONE from a school leader and ONE from a community, church or non-family member. Copy of official high school transcript - GPA of 2.8 required.

You can download the PDF version to complete and mail your completed application, transcript and letters of recommendation to: Commonwealth Credit Union, Attn: Betsy May, P.O. Box 978, Frankfort, KY 40602-0978. All entries must be received at one of our offices no later than 5:00 pm EST Friday, March 17, 2017. Note: Entries received without all necessary information or received after 5:00 pm, March 17, 2017, will be automatically disqualified. Commonwealth Credit Union associates, their family and official family are not eligible.

Previous winners:

2016 - James Ballinger, Rockcastle County High School
2016 - Laura Calihan, Highlands Latin School
2016 - Kirsten Pilcher, Franklin County High School
2016 - Brett Wellman, Greenup County High School
2015 - Brian Tramontin, Franklin Co. High School
2015 - Jay Phillips, Harlan County High School
2014 - Nathanael Sheehan, Mercer County Senior High School
2014 - Christopher Fuchs, Scott County High School
2013 - Rebecca Renn, Academy of Our Lady of Mercy
2013 - James Williams, Clay County High School
2012 - Emma J. Engleman, Owen County High School
2012 - Brianna N. Lee, Woodford County High School
2011 - Evan Wright, Frankfort High School
2011 - Catherine Mountain, Franklin County High School
2010 - Sarah Blakeman, Elizabethtown High School
2010 - Johnathan Bilbro, Muhlenburg County High School
2010 - James Hines, The McCallie School (Chattanooga, TN)
2010 - Elizabeth Hollis, Meade County High School
2009 - Oakley Watkins, Franklin County High School
2009 - Khercie Smith, Clay County High School
2009 - McKinley Heflin, McLean County High School
2009 - Laura Brown, Lyon County High School
2008 - Dustin Robinson, Nicholas County High School
2007 - Shima Dowla, Dunbar High School
2006 - Jacob Wade Turner, Perry County Central High School
2005 - Matthew Akridge, Breckinridge County High School
2004 - James Bailey, Boyd County High School
2003 - Scott Moore, Breckinridge County High School
2002 - Archanna Thangappan, Franklin County High School
2001 - Bradley Tate, Breckinridge County High School